Siouan Language Family

The Siouan language family is comprised of Native American languages spoken in central North America.

It is divided into two branches:

  1. Western, also called Siouan Proper, which is further subdivided:
    • Missouri River - includes Crow and Hidatsa
    • Mississippi Valley - includes Sioux (Dakota, Lakota), Omaha-Ponca, Assiniboine and Chiwere
    • Ohio Valley (extinct)
    • Mandan (endangered)
  2. Eastern, also called Catawban, which is comprised of two languages:
    • Catawba (extinct)
    • Woccon (extinct)