Soviet Union

Submitted names are contributed by users of this website. Check marks indicate the level to which a name has been verified.
Type Country
Scripts Советский союз(Russian)
Pronounced Pron. SO-VEE-it-yoo-NEE-ən  [key]
Other Forms FormsUnion of Soviet Socialist Republics, USSR, СССР

Meaning & History

The word Soviet is derived from Russian совет (sovet), meaning "council, assembly, advice, harmony, concord". This was the name of a federal socialist and communist state that existed from 1922 to 1991, at which time it split into 15 countries - Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Georgia 1, Azerbaijan, Lithuania, Moldova, Latvia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Armenia, Turkmenistan and Estonia.
Added 4/9/2020 by General9696
Edited 2/17/2022 by General9696