Korean Submitted Place Names

Korean names are used in South and North Korea. Note that depending on the Korean characters used these names can have many other meanings besides those listed here. See also about Korean names.
Submitted names are contributed by users of this website. The accuracy of these name definitions cannot be guaranteed.
Sierarion 시에라리온 (Country) Korean
Korean form of Sierra Leone.
Singgaporeu 싱가포르 (Country) Korean
Korean form of Singapore.
Sinjang 신장 (Political Subdivision & Region) Korean
Korean form of Xinjiang.
Somallia 소말리아 (Country) Korean
Korean form of Somalia.
Sopia 소피아 (Settlement) Georgian, Korean
Georgian and Korean form of Sofia.
Ssanya 싼야 (Settlement) Korean
Korean form of Sanya.
Sseuchwan 쓰촨 (Political Subdivision) Korean
Korean form of Sichuan.
Ssujeou 쑤저우 (Settlement) Korean
Korean form of Suzhou.
Suba 수바 (Settlement) Japanese, Korean
Japanese and Korean form of Suva.
Sumateura 수마트라 (Political Subdivision & Island) Korean
Korean form of Sumatra.
Surinam 수리남 (Country) Arabic, Armenian, Azerbaijani, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dhivehi, English, Hindi, Kazakh, Korean, Kyrgyz, Luxembourgish, Macedonian, Maltese, Mongolian, Nepali, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovene, Swedish, Tajik, Thai, Turkish, Turkmen, Urdu, Uyghur, Uzbek
English variant of Suriname as well as the standard name for the country in several languages.
Suwon 수원, 水原 (Settlement) Korean
Combination of 水 (수, su, "water") and 原 (원, won, "meadow"). This is the name of a city in South Korea.
Syameon 샤먼 (Settlement) Korean
Korean form of Xiamen.
Taeguk 태국, 泰國 (Country) Korean
Korean form of Taiguo.
Taibei 타이베이 (Settlement) Chinese, Korean
Chinese and Korean form of Taipei.
Taijung 타이중 (Settlement) Korean
Korean form of Taichung.
Tajikiseutan 타지키스탄 (Country) Korean
Korean form of Tajikistan.
Tallin 탈린 (Settlement) Armenian, Azerbaijani, Hindi, Kazakh, Korean, Kyrgyz, Mongolian, Russian, Spanish, Tajik, Turkmen, Uzbek
Form of Tallinn used in multiple languages.
Tanjania 탄자니아 (Country) Korean
Korean form of Tanzania.
Tasyukenteu 타슈켄트 (Settlement) Korean
Korean form of Tashkent.
Terabibeu 텔아비브 (Political Subdivision & Settlement) Korean
Korean form of Tel Aviv.
Tesalloniki 테살로니키 (Settlement) Korean
Korean form of Thessaloniki.
Teubillisi 트빌리시 (Settlement) Korean
Korean form of Tbilisi.
Teuripolli 트리폴리 (Settlement) Korean
Korean form of Tripoli.
Timbu 팀부 (Settlement) Korean, Macedonian, Serbian, Spanish, Tagalog
Form of Thimphu used in various languages.
Tirana 티라나 (Settlement) Albanian, English, Afrikaans, Arabic, Armenian, Azerbaijani, Bengali, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Burmese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Estonian, Finnish, French, Georgian, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Kazakh, Korean, Kyrgyz, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Malay, Maltese, Mongolian, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovene, Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog, Tajik, Thai, Turkmen, Uzbek
Perhaps derived from Doric Greek Τυρσανοί (Tursanoi) meaning "Tyrrhenians", which was an exonym for non-Greek inhabitants of the Tyrrhenian Sea. This is the name of the capital city of Albania.
Togo 토고 (Country) Afrikaans, Albanian, Basque, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Burmese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, Georgian, German, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Korean, Latvian, Luxembourgish, Macedonian, Malay, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovene, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish
Means "land where lagoons lie" from Ewe to meaning "water" and go meaning "shore". Togo, officially the Togolese Republic, is a country in West Africa bordered by Ghana to the west, Benin to the east and Burkina Faso to the north.
Tongga 통가 (Country) Korean
Korean form of Tonga.
Tureukeumeniseutan 투르크메니스탄 (Country) Korean
Korean form of Turkmenistan.
Twiniji 튀니지 (Country) Korean
Korean form of Tunisia.
Twireukiye 튀르키예 (Country) Korean
Korean form of Turkey.
Tyenjin 톈진 (Settlement) Korean
Korean form of Tianjin.
Tyenjin 톈진 (Settlement) Korean, Uyghur
Korean and Uyghur form of Tianjin.
Uhan 우한 (Settlement) Armenian, Azerbaijani, Bulgarian, Korean, Thai
Armenian, Azerbaijani, Bulgarian, Korean and Thai form of Wuhan.
Ujeubekiseutan 우즈베키스탄 (Country) Korean
Korean form of Uzbekistan.
Ukeuraina 우크라이나 (Country) Korean
Korean form of Ukraine via Ukrainian Україна (Ukrayina) or Russian Украина (Ukraina).
Ullanbatoreu 울란바토르 (Settlement) Korean
Korean form of Ulaanbaatar.
Ulsan 울산, 蔚山 (Settlement) Korean
Combination of 蔚 (울, ul, of uncertain meaning) and 山 (산, san, "mountain"), thus "kind river". This is the name of a city in South Korea.
Urugwai 우루과이 (Country) Korean
Korean form of Uruguay.
Waioming 와이오밍 (Political Subdivision) Korean, Thai
Korean and Thai form of Wyoming.
Yanggon 양곤 (Settlement) Korean
Korean form of Yangon.
Yeongguk 영국, 英國 (Country) Korean
Korean form of Yingguo, used as the Korean name for the United Kingdom.
Yereban 예레반 (Settlement) Korean
Korean form of Yerevan.
Yereban 예레반 (Settlement) Burmese, Korean
Burmese and Korean form of Yerevan.
Yerusallem 예루살렘 (Settlement) Korean
Korean form of Jerusalem.
Yongin 용인, 龍仁 (Settlement) Korean
Combination of 용 (yong, "dragon") and 인 (in, "benevolence"). This is the name of a city in South Korea.
Yoreudan 요르단 (Country) Korean
Korean form of Jordan.
Yurasia 유라시아 (Region) Korean
Korean form of Eurasia.
Yureop 유럽 (Region) Korean
Korean form of Europe.